Indiana Pacers: How the last 8 playoff teams would fare in a tournament bracket

Indiana Pacers, Paul George, Victor Oladipo (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
Indiana Pacers, Paul George, Victor Oladipo (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images) /
7 of 8
Indiana Pacers, Paul George
Indiana Pacers, Paul George (Photo by Corey Perrine/Getty Images) /

The Finals: 2011-12 Indiana Pacers vs. 2018-19 Indiana Pacers (Games 1-4)

Deploying a balanced attack, the 2012 Pacers jumped out to a Game 1 win in relatively easy fashion, never trailing from the tip en route to a 109-95 win. Paul George led them with 17 as nine players scored more than seven and six scored double-digits. Bojan Bogdanovic had 26 for the 2018 Pacers.

In Game 2, the 2019 Pacers started fast, scoring 39 in the opening quarter. They led by as much as 10 in the final frame, but 2012 Indy made a furious run to lead by five with three minutes left. Bogdanovic and Thaddeus Young then each cashed in three-pointers to tie the game at 101. Unfortunately for the 2012 Pacers, David West committed a costly turnover which culminated in a Bogdanovic game-winning jumper from the left wing as they tied the series 1-1. Myles Turner led with 20 while George once again keyed with 26 points.

Game 3 failed to deliver the same thrill as the 2012 Pacers brought the defensive intensity and cruised to an easy 104-82 win. Granger led with 21 while Collison took off for 20 off the bench. 2019 Indy failed to muster much offense, with only three players finishing the game with double-digits, led by Young’s 16.

Fortunately for the 2019 Pacers, they were able to flip the script in game 4, riding a well-rounded scoring attack led by their big man trio of Young, Turner and Sabonis and recording 27 assists as they led the entire game, winning 114-88. Hibbert led the 2012 team with 18 and 13 in a losing effort.