Indiana Pacers: How the last 8 playoff teams would fare in a tournament bracket

Indiana Pacers, Paul George, Victor Oladipo (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
Indiana Pacers, Paul George, Victor Oladipo (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images) /
3 of 8
Indiana Pacers, TJ Warren
Indiana Pacers, TJ Warren – Credit: Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports /

(2) 2011-12 Indiana Pacers vs. (7) 2015-16 Indiana Pacers

Behind Danny Granger, the 2012 Pacers beat their 2016 counterparts in Game 1 with a gritty 85-80 win. However, a surprise double-double performance from Ian Mahinmi propelled the 2016 Pacers in Game 2 to even the series.

CJ Miles’ 17 off the bench in Game 3 dominated the 2011 Pacers’ bench, leading the team to a 14-point win. In Game 4, Granger once again led the 2012 bunch in a dominant 99-73 win heading back at home.

Uncharacteristically, Game 5 was a battle of offense. 2012’s David West and Roy Hibbert, as well as 2016’s Paul George and Myles Turner each combined for 46, but the 2012 Pacers rode a strong bench performance to lead 3-2 in the series. Granger then spearheaded the 2012 squad with 24 points in Game 6 to finally eliminate their adversaries with a decisive fourth quarter rally.

(3) 2019-20 Indiana Pacers vs. (6) 2017-18 Indiana Pacers

Domantas Sabonis, TJ Warren and Malcolm Brogdon each scored more than 20 in Game 1 to race out to a fast start for the 2020 Pacers. They were also on track to win Game 2 after a wonderful first quarter, but the 2018 Pacers rallied behind Victor Oladipo’s 30 and Sabonis’ 19 off the bench for a 12-point win.

Darren Collison’s double-double then led the 2018 Indy in Game 3 as seven players finished with double digits despite Warren’s 28. They also cruised in Game 4 via a 27-point win with Thaddeus Young and Oladipo leading them to take a 3-1 lead.

In Game 5, the 2020 Pacers led by as much as 16 behind Sabonis and Brogdon, but a furious fourth quarter comeback by the 2018 Pacers led by Oladipo’s near triple-double hoisted them to the semis in a stunning 10-point win.